Know all about CUET: The One Nation, One Entrance Test

In what is being called a big leap towards uniformity in education, the University Grants Commission (UGC) has announced a new Common University Education Test (CUET) for College admissions.

“This will do away with the stress of impossibly high college cut-offs – often as much as 100%,” says UGC chief M Jagadesh Kumar.

The exam will be conducted in 13 languages, namely English, Hindi, Punjabi, Bengali, Odia, Assamese, Gujarati, Marathi, Telugu, Malayalam, Kannada, Tamil and Urdu. The question paper of CUET 2022 will include a compulsory language test, two domain-specific tests, and the general test.

What is CUET?

Central University Entrance Test (CUET) is an all-India level entrance exam conducted by NTA for admission in UG, PG, and PhD courses offered in all the participating institutions. Till last year, the full name of the exam was Central Universities Common Entrance Test or CUCET, which has now been changed by the University Grants Commission (UGC). The exam is conducted once a year across 161 cities in India.

The UGC Chairperson said that “the exam will be a computer-based, multiple-choice test which will be easy in terms of technology.”

The entrance test, to be conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA), is compulsory for all the central universities and the top education body is also asking all states, deemed to be, and private universities to use the test scores for admissions to undergraduate programmes across the country.

Syllabus, Admission & the Eligibility Criteria

Individuals who have passed class 12 exams will be eligible to take the common entrance test. “However, class 12 marks may be used by universities to set admission criteria,” informs the UGC chairperson.

Even though the universities will have to admit undergraduate students based on the common test, they are free to set a minimum benchmark for class 12 marks to decide the eligibility criteria.

Moreover, the syllabus of the entrance test will be mirrored with the Class 12 model syllabus of the NCERT. The reservation policy of the universities will not be impacted by the new CUET. “The universities can enrol candidates for the general seats as well as for the reserved seats on the basis of CUET scores. It will not impact the existing admission and reservation policy,” the UGC chief iterated.

The test will be computer-based and will have three sections — Section A (the language test), Section B (the domain-specific test) and Section C, which is optional, is a general test for vocational/ open eligibility/ cross-stream test. For Section A, which is a compulsory test for all aspirants, a candidate will have to take the exam of any one of the 13 languages.

The UGC is likely to announce the detailed structure of the test and eligibility criteria soon.

Dates for CUET

The National Testing Agency (NTA) will notify the registration process and exam dates for the 2022-23 academic session in the coming weeks.

CUET – one nation, one entrance test

Referred as “one nation, one entrance test”, the CUET is expected to come as a great relief for students across the country. As a result of this, students need not have to write different kinds of entrance tests.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post