·        Students who have submitted thesis, will be in engaged in teaching for 12 months

·        Those selected under TFB, will receive a fellowship of Rs. 40,000 p.m. plus HRA

·        Decision taken in IoE Governing Body chaired by Vice-Chancellor Prof. Sudhir Jain

VARANASI: Committed to the growth and development of students, Banaras Hindu University, has launched a special scheme called “TEACH FOR BHU” for its Ph.D students, which will help them nurture their skills to excel in professional life. The scheme aims to train BHU Ph.D. scholars about the best practices of teaching and prepare them for an outstanding academic career. The decision to introduce the scheme was taken in the Governing Body meeting of Institution of Eminence, BHU, chaired by Vice-Chancellor Prof. Sudhir K. Jain.

The idea behind the launch of the scheme is to provide an opportunity to interested and shortlisted Ph.D. scholars, who wish to make best use of their time after submission of their thesis. The Teach for BHU Fellowship will be for twelve months. Engaging Ph.D. students in teaching will help them acquire and demonstrate skills in leadership, people management and project management, which may otherwise be difficult to obtain. Students who have submitted or are expected to submit thesis (within 6 years of the date of admission, not the registration date) will be eligible to apply for the scheme. A student may apply six month before the expected date of submission of thesis. Those selected for the fellowship will be involved in teaching (independent course/involvement in laboratory classroom etc) in the University, its associated colleges and schools including nearby under-privileged schools. A candidate selected under the TFB will receive a Fellowship of Rs. 40,000 per month and Rs. 6000 HRA over the 12 month period of engagement.

A three member committee under the convenership of Prof. S. K. Singh, Faculty of Education, has been constituted to implement the scheme. Prof. A. K. Singh, Department of Geography, Mahila Mahavidyalaya, BHU, and Prof. Satyapal Sharma, Department of Hindi, Faculty of Arts, are the other two members of the committee.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post